arrow-leftarrow-rightbook-openbooks-duotonechalkboardhead-side-brainlife-ring-regularmenusearchstopwatchvideo
Getting Started
Elements
Styling & Customization
Flows
Checkout Settings
Automation
Products
Subscriptions
Order Management
Reporting & Analytics
Customer Portal
Affiliates
Integrations
ActiveCampaign
Circle
Custom Webhooks
Customer.io
Drip
FirstPromoter
Flodesk
GoHighLevel
Google
Heartbeat
Help Scout
HubSpot
Infusionsoft
Kajabi
Keap
Kit
LeadDyno
MailChimp
Make
MemberPress
Meta Pixel
Mighty Networks
Rewardful
Slack
SEGMetrics
ShipStation
Taxes
Thinkific
TikTok
Uscreen
Zapier
Zoho
AI / MCP
FAQ
API

Payment Plan Resumed

The Payment Plan Resumed event triggers when a payment plan that is in Unpaid status is successfully resumed and returns to Active status.

This can occur internally when you resume a payment plan or when you change the billing date on an Unpaid payment plan.

It can also occur when a customer pays an “Unpaid” payment plan through their payment recovery link. If the payment is successful, the plan moves from “Unpaid” to “Active” and the Payment Plan Resumed event triggers. A completed 3DS verification for that payment will also trigger the event.

The Payment Plan Resumed event only triggers when a payment plan moves from “Unpaid” to “Active”. It does not trigger when a payment plan moves from “Past Due” to “Active”, even if a payment retry is successful.

For example:
If a customer’s payment plan becomes “Unpaid” after all payment recovery attempts have failed, you can manually resume the payment plan from the payment plan record in your Spiffy account. Whether you choose Charge Immediately or Schedule Next Payment, the payment plan will return to an “Active” status and the Payment Plan Resumed event will trigger.

Simply updating the card on an “Unpaid” payment plan does not trigger the event. If the card is changed through the Customer Portal, a card hotswap, or by a merchant, the payment plan remains “Unpaid” and only the Card Updated event will trigger.

The Payment Plan Resumed event is most commonly used to trigger an internal notification or restart automations that may have been triggered when the payment plan became “Unpaid.” It can also be used to send a customer confirmation that their payment plan has been successfully resumed and recurring billing will continue according to their billing schedule.